Code Name: Lise: The True Story Of The Woman Who Became Wwii'S Most Highly Decorated Spy

  • Publish Date: 2019-01-15
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Author: Larry Loftis
  • Sale
  • $22.97
  • Regular price $38.80


Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019Womans Day
The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This YearBookBub
A nonfiction thriller.Wall Street Journal

From internationally bestselling author of the gripping (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lions Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War IIperfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls.

The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero fathers footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill.

As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Pariss Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues.

In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and loveof two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel (Parade).


Disclaimer: Bookscrown.com is a online book retailer, and is working hard to ensure that book information is correct,on occasion the images, publication date and some other info of may vary due to different publishing batch. For used condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc. Bookscrown.com is not responsible for the content books.If you have any problem about item condition,price or edtion, please contact Bookscrown.com at message@bookscrown.com.


MORE FROM THIS COLLECTION